Minister Naledi Pandor’s briefing on 30 September stated that foreign national arrivals from low- and medium-risk countries will be subject to the prevailing visa requirements.

The Department of Home Affairs since reinstated the visa exemption status of the citizens of the following countries which had been revoked at the commencement of the COVID-19 lockdown in March: South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Italy, Germany, Hong Kong, Singapore, USA, UK, France, Portugal, and Iran.

This means that nationals of these countries (with the exception of leisure travellers from high-risk countries) are free to visit South Africa, subject to complying with the applicable regulations and health protocols. Airlines may board passport holders of these countries without a visa in line with their visa exemption status before the lockdown period.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *