COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal 

SA President Cyril Ramaphosa announces travel bans

Last Updated on

South Africa President Cyril Ramaphosa has announced a range of “extraordinary measures” aimed at stemming the spread of coronavirus in South Africa.

These include:

  • Imposing travel bans effective 18 March to and from high-risk source markets, including South Korea, Italy, Iran, Spain, Germany, USA, UK and China
  • Travellers from medium-risk source markets – Portugal, Singapore and Hong Kong – to present themselves for high-intensity testing
  • Cancellation of visas granted to citizens from high-risk destinations
  • Any foreign national who visited a high-risk country will be denied a visa
  • Self-isolation for travellers who have come from high-risk destinations since mid-February  
  • Banning mass gatherings of more than 100 people
The impact of COVID-19 on the travel industry is unprecedented and unpredictable. The nature of the content that is being shared on the ASATA coronavirus microsite is therefore constantly changing. Please check the date of the post to ascertain its recency.
Related News