COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal 

Several countries impose travel restrictions from and to South Africa. Here’s what you need to know

Last Updated on

In response to the surge of new coronavirus variants, countries globally have started implementing renewed lockdowns and travel restrictions. 


On 20 January, the Netherlands held a media briefing, announcing that new travel measures will be implemented in an effort to control new COVID-19 variants. 

Travel restrictions: 

  • The Dutch government issued a strict travel advisory to its citizens and residents: do not travel abroad and do not book any trips abroad in the period up to and including 31 March 2021. 
  • A ban on flights from the United Kingdom was issued as well as a docking ban for ferries from the United Kingdom.  
  • A ban is on passenger flights from the following other countries: South Africa, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela was also announced.  

The flight ban is expected to remain in force for one month, or until the government finalises the planned legislation on mandatory quarantine rules for travellers. 

For more information, click here


A notice published on KLM’s website states that travellers from affected countries can:  

  • rebook their flight to a later date free of charge via My Trip.  
  • Cancel their flight via the KLM website and receive a refund (in line with the airline’s refund and rebook policies). 

Travellers from affected countries who have a transfer in Amsterdam can also rebook their flights via My Trip.  


Travellers from South Africa will not be allowed entry into Dubai following new flight restrictions introduced by the United Arab Emirates. Only UAE residents will be permitted to return from South Africa.  

Emirates issued a notice on its website: 

New rules for travel from South Africa 

Travellers will not be able to enter Dubai if they have been in South Africa within 10 days of departure to Dubai. This includes transiting in other countries within 10 days before travelling to Dubai. 

Click here for more information. 


Travellers who have visited South Africa, Zambia, United Arab Emirates, or Brazil within 14 days prior to arrival in Israel, may not go into isolation at home and will be required to go into a 14-day isolation in a state-designated motel. 

A 10-day motel isolation is possible, if the traveller gets tested twice at the times set out in the protocols and if both test results are negative. 

Click here for more information. 

Disclaimer: The information provided is reported on as per the information provided by the original sources. ASATA endeavours to you keep you updated on any changes and updates as and when received.

The impact of COVID-19 on the travel industry is unprecedented and unpredictable. The nature of the content that is being shared on the ASATA coronavirus microsite is therefore constantly changing. Please check the date of the post to ascertain its recency.
Related News