COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal 

Department Of Home Affairs Reinstates Visa Exemption

Last Updated on

The Department of Home Affairs has issued a letter to airlines, reinstating the visa exemption status of the citizens of the following countries which had been revoked at the commencement of the COVID-19 lockdown in March:

  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • Germany 
  • Hong Kong
  • Singapore
  • USA
  • UK 
  • France
  • Portugal
  • Iran

The visa-free status of citizens of these countries was temporarily suspended at the start of the lockdown period. This means that nationals of these countries are free to visit South Africa, subject to complying with the applicable regulations and health protocols. Airlines may board passport holders of these countries without a visa in line with their visa exemption status before the lockdown period.

Transit travellers through South Africa by air will be allowed to connect to their destinations, subject to them complying with applicable health protocols.

Important to note that this does not change the entry requirements for international travellers visiting South Africa, outlined within the Gazette which can be downloaded here. Leisure travellers from high-risk countries will not be permitted to visit South Africa. 

This list will be updated every two weeks.

The impact of COVID-19 on the travel industry is unprecedented and unpredictable. The nature of the content that is being shared on the ASATA coronavirus microsite is therefore constantly changing. Please check the date of the post to ascertain its recency.
Related News