COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal 

Tourism Ministry reveals list of fund beneficiaries

Last Updated on

The Minister of Tourism Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane has made public a list of Small, Medium and Micro Enterprises who benefited through the much-needed Tourism Relief Funding.

In a statement issued by the Tourism Ministry, it said that the R200 million relief has successfully supported 4000 business, negatively affected by the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

“We are encouraged by the positive feedback that we received from them in appreciation of this aid. The list of beneficiaries of this grant, capped at R50,000, can now be accessed on,” the ministry added.

Many of the business have utilised the fund to subsidise expenses towards fixed costs, operational costs, supplies and other pressure costs items. Allocation of funds to ordinary South Africans, was conducted in line with government policies and ensured that the benefit is spread geographically across the country to cover even businesses in small villages and townships

The beneficiaries per province across the sub-sectors of accommodation, hospitality and travel services are as follows:

  • Eastern Cape – 457
  • Free State – 134
  • Gauteng – 1017
  • KwaZulu-Natal – 607
  • Limpopo – 294
  • Mpumalanga – 238
  • North West – 162
  • Northern Cape – 124
  • Western Cape – 967

“As government, we remain committed to working with all stakeholders in whatever way we can, as we understand that these are extremely difficult times for the sector and this situation demands that we work together to weather the storm going forward,” the ministry concluded.

The impact of COVID-19 on the travel industry is unprecedented and unpredictable. The nature of the content that is being shared on the ASATA coronavirus microsite is therefore constantly changing. Please check the date of the post to ascertain its recency.
Related News